Full-Time Student. Full-Time Employee. Part-Time Christian?

The past few weeks have been pretty difficult and I have been experiencing negative feelings. School started back a few weeks ago and this semester I am taking 15 hours alongside working 40 hours each week. On top of that, I have been dealing with some personal issues and feelings of disappointment in myself and the way I have been handling things. After dealing with this mess (at least trying to), I realized that Jesus is not in the center. I constantly am busy dealing with work, school, and my personal life, but I keep putting my relationship with God on the back burner. Why do I do this? Do I think that everything else is more important to me than my relationship with God? My relationship with God is not where I want it to be and I am so frustrated with myself because I get caught up in the pointless worries of this world. Why do I get frustrated and upset, but do nothing to change it?


It is a relationship.

Every single relationship people experience requires communication and time spent together. Why do I sometimes think that my relationship with God should be any different? In order to grow I need to be in the word and I need to spend time in prayer. When things around me start piling up and I feel like I am drowning in my to-do list, I put these two things at the very end of my list. When I begin to not spend time with God, I can always tell a difference. I get angry at pointless things, get caught up in worldly pleasures and my life literally starts spinning out of control. When I put my nose in my Bible and spend time in prayer, changes happen. I remember that everything I experience on this earth is temporary.

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.” (James‬ ‭4:13-14‬)

James reminds us that our lives are nothing but a mist compared to eternity. Why waste the few moments we have on worries? We should focus on doing things that are going to glorify God and use the struggles we face to build us up the way God intends for us to do.

My challenge to you, and myself, is to spend time in God’s word and in prayer today. I encourage you to do this for a week and see how God uses this time to grow your relationship with him and listen to what he has to say to you. If you do not know where to start, I definitely recommend Beth Moore’s book Breaking Free. I just started it a few days ago and so far am really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

