Juggling Life, Work & School

When I tell people I work 40 hours a week, have a small part-time job and also take around 15 hours in school a semester, I typically get the response, “Wow! You have a lot on your plate. How are you able to get everything done when it needs to be done?” There are times when I cry like a baby struggle, but I do have help to get me through the busy school year while juggling work, bills and other “adult” things. I put together a list of items that can help any person who juggles multiple things at once in their day-to-day life!


 1. Planner

I. Love. My. Planner. I think that this is definitely the #1 necessity on the list. I have recently been using The Happy Planner and have started the decorating trend that is going around. This is definitely not necessary. Throughout high school and last 3 years of school I used a normal planner from Target. Planners are so important! At the beginning of each semester, I take the syllabus from all of my classes and fill out every assignment. This really helps me to look at every thing at once and helps me remember any big assignments that are due several weeks ahead.

2. iPhone Calendar and Reminders

The iPhone calendar and reminders are definitely always in use on my phone. I like using these to help me remember things because I do not always carry my planner with me. It is also sometimes more convenient to look at this and add events on the go instead of pulling my planner out.

3. iPhone Apps

There are PLENTY of apps out there that can help you get organized and also a lot that are fun and are definitely must-haves for me!

  • Budgeting: I enjoy the Mint app, which connects to your bank account and keeps track of your spending
  • Countdown: I LOVE countdowns! During my senior year of high school I would send my friends a text message telling them how many days we had left until graduation. Seriously. Every. Single. Day. I think I like countdowns so much because it becomes motivation for me to keep pushing until the next exciting event. I use Countdown!! and have for the past several years now and really enjoy using it.
  • Music: I listen to music often, but sometimes want something a little different from what I have in my music playlist. A couple apps that I use are Pandora and Slacker Radio.

4. Resetting your week

This is so important for me to be able to refocus on the week ahead. If I do not do this, throughout the week I feel like I fail at everything that I am up against and become not very productive. There are several things I do on the weekend or Sunday for me to be able to do this and you can read more about it here.

5. Goals

I cannot stress enough how important goal setting is. Every week I sit down and think about certain goals that I want to accomplish throughout the week. These range from, drinking more water, to straightening up my apartment, and even to relax a little. Setting goals not only motivate you to do things that are important to you that week, but also make you feel amazing after you check it off for the week.


I am pretty busy, as I am sure everyone is, but I am able to balance it because of these few things listed here. If you are struggling with feeling overwhelmed, don’t feel like you are alone. I hope that some of these ideas help you to juggle your daily tasks and duties as you go throughout each day. What are some things that you do in order to stay on top of things and not get overwhelmed by the many things that required to be taken care of?

Image:here

2 thoughts on “Juggling Life, Work & School

Leave a Reply

