Not Your Average 21-Year-Old

It is Friday night and while most people my age are out with friends, drinking, partying, and staying out until the sun comes up, I found myself cleaning my toilet. After I got over the fact that as always I forgot I mopped my floor within 5 seconds and stepped on it (seriously, is this just me?), I started having thoughts of “I am a loser,” “I am going to be alone forever,” “why does no one love me?” Can I possibly be the only 21-year-old who does not go out? Am I the only one my age that goes grocery shopping after being at work and then come home to my broom and window cleaner? Is this really how my life is always going to be?
I really hope that I am not the only person like this and I hope that anyone in their twenties who does experience this situation will come across this because it always helps me to know that I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE.

I am doing what I have to for right now. I decided to live on my own. I decided to work full-time while going to school full-time. I decided to focus completely on school and work until I graduate in May, so I can have good grades and do my best at work. I may not be having a “blast” every Friday night, but I am focusing on what I need to get me to graduation.

I don’t have time to go out every night. When I graduate in seven months I will have free time. For now, this is okay.

I am not a loser and I have people in my life who love me, but I do live alone so I am going to feel lonely sometimes. I can’t blame this on the fact that people hate me because it is not true or healthy.

It is also okay to be alone sometimes. It gives me time to think and relax. Two things that I don’t always have time to do.

I may not have fun every night, but I do have fun. I have friends and family who I love spending time with. I go places, laugh, and experience new things. It may not be constant, but it still exists.

If you ever feel like you are lame for staying home on the weekends, you aren’t and you aren’t alone experiencing this. Things may seem sad and frustrating, but it is not always going to be this way. Just remember that you are loved, wanted, amazing, fun, and responsible. But if you are like me you sometimes forget it is okay to have fun. Don’t be afraid to take a break from life and shake things up every once in a while!

 

Note: I do not own the image used (found here)

One thought on “Not Your Average 21-Year-Old

Leave a Reply

