Thankful

Turkey. Dressing. Cranberry sauce. Broccoli and rice casserole. Homemade rolls. PUMPKIN PIE! Y’all, it’s that time. Now, I really do love the food on Thanksgiving, but I always seem to forget the reason we celebrate it. I get so caught up in arranging my plate to fit the most food possible, that I forget to think about all the things I have in my life that are absolutely amazing. Because of that, I wanted to actually sit and think about the wonderful things I have been given. As many people do this time of year, I decided to talk about some of the things I am thankful for.


1. God

I didn’t grow up in a Christian home. My family didn’t go to church. The only time I went was VBS in the summertime, and then when I got older I started to go with some friends. I have talked about this before in one of my posts, but I started going to church with my boyfriend my junior year of high school. When we broke up after a year, I continued to go by myself. A few months later, I realized that I am a sinner and need a savior. This time of my life was difficult, but God had a plan. He knew that by taking me away from my friends and everything that I relied on, I would seek Him and trust Him. I am so thankful that I serve a God who loves me so much that He sent his ONE and ONLY son to die for me, so that I could be made right with Him and live with Him for eternity (John 3:16). I am undeserving of His love, mercy, and grace, but because He does love me, I am able to have a relationship with Him.

2. Family

My family has always been there for me. They support me. They love me. And, they have always been my biggest cheerleaders in the activities I have participated in. There are many people who do not have a family (either because of death, or other reasons) and because of that I am thankful that I do.

3. Grandparents (Meme & Papa)

I was going to mention my Meme and Papa with family, but they are just so amazing I had to put them separate. My Meme and Papa are my mother’s parents, and they are so special to me because I never knew my father’s parents. His parent’s are still alive, but there are other reasons why I have not had a relationship with them. Do I wish I had my other grandparents? Yes and no. Obviously I would like to have had them in my life, but not under these circumstances. However, my Meme and Papa are without a doubt the greatest grandparents in the world that they can take the place of 100 sets of grandparents. I am so thankful for them and what they mean to me.

4. Education

When I graduate in May, I will have been in school for 17 years. Seventeen. Years. I am so ready to be finished and although I complain, cry, and grumble because of school, I am so thankful I am able to get an education. I am thankful that I was able to go to school for free and then continue my education at college. There are people who do not get that opportunity. In some countries, people have to pay to go to school and if their family cannot afford it, they don’t get to go. I am thankful I know how to read, write, and understand math. I am thankful I will have earned a degree in a few more months.

5. Home/Food/Clothing

I am thankful that I have a roof over my head, clothing on my body and in my closet, and never worry about when my next meal will be. I am thankful my parents always provided these for me and that I am now able to provide them for myself.

6. Job

I have an amazing job. Although it is not what I want to do the rest of my life and I hate getting up every morning to get to work, I am thankful I have it. I work in the oil/gas industry, which is a pretty big industry in West Texas, and when the oilfield took a hit a year ago, many people lost their jobs. I am thankful that I didn’t. I am also thankful and so appreciative that my work has paid for my last two years of college. Because of this company, I will only owe about $1700, which is absolutely amazing.

7. Health

I think that when people are young, they do not realize how awesome it is that they are healthy. I think that people only realize it (like many other things) once they begin to lose it. I am 21 years old and am incredibly thankful that I have my health.

8. My country

If you live in the United States, you know that there has been and there will be a lot of changes happening in the next few months. We have elected a new president. Whether you like him or not, he has been selected. I am thankful that I live in a country that I have the right to vote. I am thankful that I live in a country where our government isn’t ruled completely by one person and that there are many stages to creating laws. I am thankful I live in a country where I have many freedoms that people in other countries don’t.


These are just a few things I am thankful for and I really enjoyed sharing them with y’all. If you haven’t already, I encourage to take a few moments this week to think about the things you are thankful for. It is so easy to get caught up in the hussle and bussle of the holidays that we forget  what we are celebrating.

I hope y’all have a wonderful, thankful, and safe Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving!
xoxo Haley

Image: http://thediymommy.com/our-fall-2014-mantel-free-give-thanks-printable/

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

