2016 Resolutions Review

Last year I wrote a post listing some of my resolutions for the year, which you can check out here. I thought it would be fun to look at the things I wanted to accomplish this year. Some I did, and of course some I didn’t.


1. Grow Relationship with God

Failed. I honestly had the best intentions on working on my relationship with God this year, but I failed. Miserably. I wanted to spend more time in the word and in communication with God, but I think I have done worst with this than I ever have before. I also can see the side effects of that in my life. This year was difficult in several ways. I have stressed more than I have the past few years. Personal things kept getting in the way. And my attitude was just plain terrible through it all. There are many sinful things that I deal with on a daily basis, as everyone does, but I have been struggling with one particular sin for over a year. I have yet to beat it. It has completely taken over my life and I am so mad at myself that I have let it get to this point and not have tried to protect myself with God’s word in my heart.

2. Health

Failed. As most people, I had the intention of exercising and eating better. I started the year out strong – for about three weeks – but I soon failed. I stopped exercising and I stopped caring about the food I put in my body. Because of this, my body is still unhealthy and has gained several pounds.

3. Blogging

Passed. I am pretty proud of myself for how well I have done with blogging. I did not blog every week like I wanted to, but I have done fairly decent. This is surprising to me because usually I will start something and be really excited about it, but then get discouraged or bored. So, thank you to all who have been reading what I have to say. It means so much for the support that I have received the past year!

4. Travel

Passed. My main goal for 2016 was to travel to San Francisco to spend time with my sister. Although I did not spend my week of vacation in San Francisco, I did take a trip to Disneyland with my sister and brother-in-law. So, I count this as a success!

5. Grow/Learn

Passed. I don’t think it is possible to not grow, or learn in life, especially in the time frame of a year. There have been many things I have experienced that have been disappointing, upsetting, stressful, confusing, and amazing. All of the obstacles and experiences this past year have definitely contributed to the way I view life and have produced life lessons that I will hold with me forever.

6. Love Myself

Passed/Failed. This is still a work in progress – that is why it is both a pass and fail. At this time last year I had realized that I was in an “almost relationship.” It felt like a relationship just without labels, but at the same time it didn’t. I realized how this was affecting my life and I wanted to do something about it. Throughout this past year I have really worked on trying to figure out who I am and what I want in life. The things I have discovered have contributed to a love for myself and ability to appreciate who I am.


I am somewhat okay with how I treated my resolutions this year. I had some success, but also failure in certain areas. Although I think it is important to make resolutions and try your best at succeeding, I also think it is important to understand that you are human and the year may not turn out like you imagined.

Be sure to look out for my 2017 resolutions post that I will be posting very soon!

 

Image: here

One thought on “2016 Resolutions Review

Leave a Reply

