2017 Resolutions

How is it possible that next year is next week? I feel like I say this every year, but this year has gone by way too fast. Maybe it is because I am getting older, or maybe it is because this year I completely was focused on school and work and nothing else. Whatever it is, it still baffles me that 2016 is almost over. I mentioned last year that I like to sit down at the end of the year and think of the things I want to accomplish in the new year. I think it is important that we create goals for ourselves to keep us motivated, positive, and having things to look forward to in the future. So without further ado, here are my goals/resolutions for 2017!


1. Graduate College

I am so close to graduating college, but I am also losing motivation by the second. This will be my last semester as an undergrad and I am unbelievably excited to finish. However, my goal for this year is to take time to appreciate the fact that I am receiving an education and to not wish it away as fast I want to.

2. Travel

This was on my list last year and I accomplished it by going to Disneyland. I definitely want to do more this year because I absolutely love doing it. I am tired of being scared and making up excuses that I don’t want to go by myself, or I don’t have the money. I want to be bold and adventurous in traveling in the upcoming year.

3. Meet New People

I go to work. Go home. Eat. Do homework. Watch TV. Go to church once a week. I am alone the majority of the time. Although I enjoy having my own space and spending “me” time, I need to get out of my apartment and find someone who I can have a face-to-face conversation with. 2017 is going to be a year of many changes and opportunities in my life and I want to meet people to share the experiences with. I might start volunteering somewhere, or start a new hobby that involves me actually going somewhere around other people, or something I haven’t even thought of yet, but this is certainly a must this year.

4. Learn Photography

I got a DSLR camera for Christmas this year. This is something I have wanted for a long time, but never took the leap to purchase one. I am excited to learn how to properly use the camera and learn something new throughout 2017.

5. 365 Photo Challenge

Speaking of a new camera, I have decided that I am going to try taking a picture every single day throughout 2017 and upload it right here! I am nervous, but excited to try. However, life does get in the way sometimes, but I am going to try my absolute best to accomplish the goal! I also think this gives me an opportunity to practice photography and learn my camera.

6. Appreciating Life

I think this is something that I really need to focus on. 2016 was not a terrible year for me, but I think I have been negative about every situation. I want to work on acknowledging the fact that this life is too short to solely be focused on work and school and get out of the daily routine I have made for myself. Now I do love having a routine, but it has gotten to a point where it is literally just that, a daily routine. Nothing new, exciting, or different. I think also it is easy to become infatuated with everything that goes on in the world that I lose sight of the bigger picture.

7. Health

I think this is almost always on lists for NYRs. I want to work out and be healthy. I really want to try yoga, or zumba, or some other type of exercise class that makes working out new and fun! This can also help with #3!


So, there you have it. Another New Year’s resolution list. I am ready for 2017. I think it is going to be an amazing year filled with exciting things. 12 months. 52 weeks. 365 days. 8,760 hours. 525,600 minutes. 31,536,000 seconds. However you want to look at it, you have an amazing road ahead and ability to accomplish so many things. I hope y’all have wonderful end to 2016, and a safe and exciting beginning to 2017!

What are some things you hope to accomplish the new year?

2016 Resolutions

2016 Resolutions Review

Image: here

3 thoughts on “2017 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

