How to Make Time for Jesus in College

I’m ALIVE!!! It has been TWO months since I last posted a blog. I got really overwhelmed with everything in my life and lost some of my passion for blogging, but I am excited to get back to doing something I enjoy! Because the past months have been so busy, I figured now would be the perfect time to give you ideas on how to make time for Jesus in college (or, in life in general).

I am in my last semester of undergrad and I can honestly say I am not the best at keeping my relationship with God a priority. I tend to have the thought that after college I will work on my faith and be able to designate time in my life because I will be less busy. But, let’s face it. There will never be a point in your life where you are not going to be busy. After college you will be in the “real” world, starting a new job, and perhaps starting a new family. This means that NOW is the time to spend time with God. NOW is the time to make your faith a priority. Although I am not the poster child for keeping life together and spending time with Christ every day, I decided to share some tips that I try and use.


1. The Soul Scripts Blog

I stumbled across this on Facebook one day and thought it was really interesting. As I looked at the blog, I realized that in order to access everything, you have to become a member and pay for a subscription. Jordan Lee, the creator of SoulScripts, provides women with an opportunity to connect and share life together. The focus of the blog (sisterhood) is “your brokenness is welcome here.” I think this gives a great overview of what the blog allows. My favorite part is that there is a Facebook group, which allows for sisters in Christ to connect at a deeper level.
SoulScripts Website

2. YouVersion Bible App

The YouVersion Bible app is an app that can be downloaded on your phone. This will give you the opportunity to have the Bible with you wherever you go. There are multiple versions of the Bible available on the app, making it easier to have access to your favorite. The best thing about the app is that it is not just the bible; there are also bible studies that can take you through the entire bible, or certain experiences in your life!

3. First 5 App

I recently discovered this app and think it is amazing. This app was created by Lysa Terkeurst, president of Proverbs 31 Ministries. This app contains many bible studies for FREE and is easily accessible, so you have a bible study everywhere you go! I haven’t looked much into it, but there are groups on the app that let you connect to other people using it.

4. Wake Up Earlier

I have mentioned this before, but I have a terrible problem getting out of bed in the morning. I literally have to set 20 alarms, just to make sure I can get to work on time. So, I have a difficult time with this one. However, waking up just 10 minutes earlier in the morning can give you plenty of time to open up your Bible and spend some time with God. You will be amazed at how this changes your life.

5. Get Ready for Bed Earlier

I already go to bed pretty early, but by getting ready for bed a few minutes earlier, I am able to spend that extra time with God. This is usually the time of day I spend my quiet time, because it is easier for me.

6. Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

You probably have heard of this before, but I think it is one of the easiest ways to start the day. If you have not heard of Jesus Calling, it is a daily devotional that doesn’t even take five minutes. This is my favorite thing to do in the morning, since I am usually low on time!
You can buy it here

7. Plan

I am a huge planner in whatever I do. It is so important to schedule your day out in order to make sure you have time to accomplish what needs to be done. I try and make a plan of when and what I am going to do with my quiet time, because I feel like it helps me keep on track. However, I do advise you use caution because this can sometimes make spending time with God something to check of the to-do list, which isn’t how this time should be used.


These are just a few things I try and do in order for me to make sure I spend time with Jesus. I get caught up in my personal life and usually put God on the back burner of my life, so it is important for me to find ways that make it easier and exciting to spend quiet time. I hope these ideas encourage you and help you to make time for Jesus whether you are in college, or throughout busy everyday life!

Again, I apologize for going MIA the past couple months, but now that school is finally almost over I am hoping I will have more time and excitement for blogging!

3 thoughts on “How to Make Time for Jesus in College

Leave a Reply

