My Process on Deciding on my Major

It’s one of the most asked questions when discussing college: “What is your major?” I changed my major so many times throughout the past few years and have had countless ideas of what I wanted to pursue. Honestly, sometimes moving from one idea to another did not make any sense. Because I think my process on coming to the conclusion of majoring in communication was no where near normal, I decided I would share it with y’all!


1. Anesthesiologist

The highest paying job. Sounds great, right? Yeah I thought so too until researched how much school was involved. I decided that the amount of school involved was not going to be for me, and I would rather begin a career before I was in my thirties. It just was not for me!

2. Diagnostic Medical Sonographer

I had this idea for the longest than any of the others. However, I decided I did not want to do this because I did not want to get my CNA. I recently looked at this career option again and found out that getting a CNA takes just a few months and would not have been very difficult, but I guess doing this was not in the cards for me.

3. Social Work

Social work was my first major in college. I wanted to pursue social work and work for an adoption agency/foster care. However, the first social work class I took did not teach me anything. I honestly learned nothing. Because of that I was nervous about pursuing a degree where I would not receive a fulfilling education.

4. Medical Secretary

Back to the medical field! After I decided not to do social work, I found that I could go to school to be a medical receptionist. I liked the idea of being a receptionist, and was interested in the medical field, so I was excited to begin this option.

5. Radiology Tech

A couple months into pursuing medical secretary, I began the job that I currently have, which is a receptionist. No, this job is not in the medical field and it might be different depending on the location, but I decided being a receptionist is NOT something I want to be the rest of my life.

6. Family and Consumer Science

At this point in my life, I decided I wanted to go off to college (as we will see, that does not happen). I decided that I wanted to purse family and consumer science, teach home economics for a couple years, and then open up a nonprofit pertaining to teenage pregnancy.

7. Accounting

After a year of working part-time as a receptionist, applying to another college, putting a down payment on my dorm, and talking to my future roommates, I was given an offer I could not pass. If you have read my blog you may already know this, but I was offered a full-time position and for my last two years of school to be paid for. Because of this, I had to figure out a new career path pretty fast and decided on accounting. This was the shortest option I had, but still was necessary to mention.

8. Communication

Finally after changing my major multiple times, I will be graduating with a communication major in a couple weeks. This was definitely not something I ever thought about pursuing and had no idea what I would learn, but it got to the point where I just wanted to pick something and be finished. I have enjoyed studying communication even though the direction my life is going right now is not what I envisioned. Check back next week where I will talk more about my thoughts on my communication major!


Maybe you are frustrated with yourself for not knowing what you want to major in. Maybe you have changed your major so many times. Whatever it is, I am here to tell you that it will all work out and you will figure it out eventually!

Missed last week’s post? Check it out here

 

3 thoughts on “My Process on Deciding on my Major

Leave a Reply

