When You Don’t Know Where You’re Headed

I walked across the stage at my college graduation two weeks ago! What the heck!? The main expression I feel when thinking about this is how did time go so fast!? However, another question also haunts me: “What am I doing and where am I going now?” I have experienced joy, fear, anxiety, and many other emotions that past few weeks because I am excited for the future, but also scared out of my mind.


If you have read my last couple posts, you might know that my plans from high school did not look anything like they do before. I am a planner. I plan everything. I plan my outfits for the week. I plan my to-do lists for each day. I plan my goals. I plan for my future. I literally plan everything in my life. The main thing I have realized throughout my 22 years is that I can plan all I want, but it is likely that none of my plans will happen.

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

I have so many hopes, dreams, and plans for my future. I am a strong believer that each person should have these in their lives, but it is also important to understand who is in control. At times I forget that God’s plans for me are better than my own. I believe that I know what is best for me and what I want in my life, but I am typically wrong. God has a plan. God knows what I need. God has a better idea than anything I could ever think about.

So, I encourage you during the moments when you feel like you don’t know where you are going to focus on God. Maybe you don’t have a plan. Maybe you did have a plan, but something happened and now you don’t know where you’re headed. Whatever it may be, God is in control and knows exactly where you are going. You will get to where you need to be and when you need to be there.

It’s okay if you don’t know where you are headed at any moment in your life. It may not be comfortable, or an ideal situation, but I promise you are going to be okay and go where you are meant to.


Check out some of my other posts if you haven’t yet!
Why I am Thankful I Chose a Communication Major
My Process on Deciding on my Major
How to Make Time for Jesus in College

2 thoughts on “When You Don’t Know Where You’re Headed

Leave a Reply

